View RSS Feed

All Blog Entries

  1. Don't Ask Me Why: Chapter 13, Part I

    It was early November, and the peak for the Fall colors. Every tree was yellow, orange or red, depending on the type, and the ground was covered with leaves in places so that you couldn't see the ground. The weather had been rainy for a long time in October, but now the sun was coming out bright and full, and the air was fresh and clean. Marie liked taking walks on the weekends by herself, especially around her apartment. There was a path that went to a small river nearby the college campus, and ...
  2. Rachmaninov "In Camara"

    En français

    This week’s installment of Once Upon the Internet considers some tracks I downloaded some time ago featuring intimate music from Sergei Rachmaninov, which fits right in with my Summer-lomng look at his music.

    Rachmaninov wrote two piano trios; this one – his op. 9 – and a second youthful single-movement work in G minor written in four days in 1892. The later, three movement trio ...

    Updated Jul-23-2013 at 13:21 by itywltmt

    Classical Music , Recorded Music
  3. Don't Ask Me Why: Chapter 12

    Friday night was prime time for a concert. All the musicians liked to go party afterwards. For them, there was no such thing as partying too much, because they were bogged down with work at the end of every cycle. This second concert was just the same.

    Marie wondered if she would ever have a chance to engage in those parties. For instance, this evening.

    On the program was Prokofiev's 3rd piano concerto, performed by the winner of the last year's concerto competition. ...
  4. Don't Ask Me Why: Chapter 11, Part II

    Tanya was excited for the evening, in a new way she hadn't been before. Marcus wasn't going to be there, but she didn't mind. All she cared about was Ernest being there. But when she came onto stage and saw Ernest talking with Marie, her heart cringed.

    "What's he doing? Talking to her? He's wasting his time," she thought to herself irritatedly. "He can't possibly make her like him... or could he?" a horrid thought came in her mind, which she wiped away immediately. ...
  5. Don't Ask Me Why: Chapter 11, Part I

    Marie was responsible for giving out free tickets to people who came early enough to the box office. Already the Monday morning of the week of three different concerts, the symphony was sold out, before Alex got there. He had forgotten to get a comp ticket the week before, no doubt too busy, but Marie knew he would come again. At least, she hoped so.

    It was Wednesday morning when Alex finally did come, wearing all-black, probably for some performance. He looked very distressed. ...