Classical Music Forum banner

Emotional state and keys

7K views 24 replies 15 participants last post by  Dumbo 
#1 ·
I am not a musician and know very little about music theory. I am wondering if there is any association with emotional state and keys? For example does a certain key convey happiness or sadness. How about angry, confused, doubt, joy, frustrations etc.

For those who excels in this area could educate the rest of us in this forum. Thanks.

#2 ·
There are no hard-and-fast rules. Any key can convey almost anything. Typically, though, major keys are more flexible; a minor key doesn't convey happiness very well, but a major key can be used for both happiness and sadness if used right. Think of it as sort of a spectrum. Major stays farily constant throughout the spectrum but drops off the darker the emotion; minor drops away almost entirely in the brightest parts of the spectrum. The way the different emotions, like anger, confusion, doubt etc. are arranged on the spectrum varies by composer.

#3 · (Edited)
^^^ Great reply. :tiphat:

Once someone makes hard-and-fast rules, someone else will come along and break or bend them. But for interest, this is what James Scott Skinner, the Scottish fiddler, thought about keys used in Scottish traditional music:

C - Bold and piercing
A minor - sad and plaintive
G - plenty of body
E minor - sterile, thin
D - splendid body
B minor - rather sad
A - the fiddle key
F minor - exquisitely harrowing
E - brilliant but lacking in body
B flat - velvet, very rich & fine
E flat and C minor - weird, fascinating, and beautifully sad.

This probably says more about Scott Skinner than about the keys. I think he's dead wrong about E minor, since a number of hauntingly beautiful Irish jigs are composed in this key.

#5 · (Edited)