View RSS Feed

All Blog Entries

  1. Touch: Chapter 8

    In a few days, Nadia's brother Sergei came to her home for a visit.

    "I would like to invite you to a ball tomorrow night. A lot of my comrades and some other families from society will be there, but mostly young people. I think you will enjoy it," he said.

    "I would love to come!" Nadia smiled. "I work in the evenings but I think my... employer will allow me to go."

    "You mean the blind guy?"

  2. La Chronique du disque (August 2012)

    En français

    The rules will be kept simple: here’s what I found, here’s where I found it, here’s a couple of sentences about it and (possibly) some opinions.

    Not unlike Olympic Figure Skating, I will provide two sets of marks (letters A to D) on sound quality (SQ) and on overall impression (OI). These grades are entirely subjective, but here are some guidelines:

    • About “sound quality”: my point of reference is my iPod (160 GB iPod Classic) with standard earbud-type

    Updated Sep-12-2012 at 02:32 by itywltmt

    Classical Music , Conductors , Recorded Music
  3. another project (in 3 or 4 posts)

    1. Beethoven: Piano Sonata #32 in C minor (op. 111)
    2. Beethoven: Symphony #5 in C minor (op. 67)
    3. Schubert: String Quintet in C (D 956)
    4. Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring
    5. Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier
    6. Shostakovich: String Quartet #8 in C minor
    7. Beethoven: String Quartet #14 (op. 131)
    8. Beethoven: Piano Sonata #30 in E (op. 109)
    9. Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto #2 in C minor (op. 18)
    10. Mozart: Requiem Mass in D minor (K.
  4. "Great Conductors Do Not Dance": A Steinberg Appreciation - Part Two

    Sharing Disc #1 with the Eroica is a performance of Beethoven's Eighth Symphony made within about a year or two of its companion. As good as the Eroica was, this recording is even more satisfying.

    It isn't up to current-day recording standards, of course. But, gone is that slightly restricted sound in the fortissimo parts that plagued, particularly, the first movement of the Third. In fact, the recording standard seems to be up to the best of the pre-digital era.

    Likes Ravndal liked this post
  5. Once Upon the Internet - Rodrigo Alqiuati Plays Brahms

    Summer of the Sonata
    “The Summer of the Sonata” Community Project
    Artist Page (in Portuguese)

    Today's post is the last in our summer series on sonatas, and another instalment in our Once Upon the Internet series featuring the musical legacy of the original MP3.COM.

    MP3.Com was indeed a conduit for independent artists, and Brazilian cellist Rodrigo Alquati was no exception - his self-issued 2001 CD of the two cello sonatas of Johannes Brahms