Classical Music Forum banner

Schubert's last Quartet

6K views 29 replies 15 participants last post by  GKC 
#1 ·
When i started listening to Schubert's string quartets fifteen years ago, it always was the No.12-14 and of course the quintet. For some reason, i did not know the No.15 in G existed. 6 months ago i stumble upon it and listened a couple of times. I was overwhelmed by the powerful force it had. I am no expert in string quartets, but i feel it is something very different about it, except the choice of key, being between the No.14 d-minor and the quintet.
Can someone shed some historic light on this work, or have some other opinion of it. Personally i think i'ts a remarkable work. :tiphat:

#2 ·
don't worry, after repeated listenings it will become boring and you will resort to listening to Beethoven, Mozart and Mendelssohn's quartets. The problem with the number 15 is that it is not perfect, it was moving into a direction that Schubert hadn't properly mastered. If Schubert had written 2 more quartets he would have mastered this new direction and the last quartet would have been the supreme in the genre.

#4 ·
The final movement always struck me as second-rate Beethoven; this is not a reaction I typically have to anything Schubert composed. Perhaps I just don't "get it", but my experience was exactly that just laid out by Scipio: I quickly became bored with the whole of it and turned back to Beethoven, Mendelssohn, etc.

I may yet learn to enjoy it.

#6 · (Edited)
Personally I think some responses here are ridiculous. I find the 15th Quartet to be a complete masterwork which I can listen to again and again. I find it holds up much more to repeated listening than Death and the Maiden, even though that is a great quartet as well. For Schubert the pattern of quality is very clear to me: Quintet>#15>#14>>#13. The live performances that I have heard of #15 have been stunning and clearly blew the audience away.