Classical Music Forum banner

Are Listeners Permitted To Dislike, And Express Such Dislike, Of Pieces Of Music?

Are Listeners Permitted To Dislike, And Express Such Dislike, Of Pieces Of Music?

31K views 256 replies 55 participants last post by  millionrainbows 
#1 ·
It seems to me there are folks who have a very hard time reading other people's expression of dislike of some pieces of music. (This appears to be the case more often than not, of supporters of modern classical music).

Well, let me put this question to you. It is a simple question, so please don't get tied down to debates about what definitions should apply to certain words. I'm just a plain music student, who embraces music that I like, and discharge those that I don't.

Are listeners allowed to dislike and express their dislike of pieces of music? From Monteverdi to Mozart to 2013 whatevers today. ;)

Reactions: neoshredder
#2 ·
Of course listeners are free to express their dislike of pieces of music. They should make it clear that it is a personal opinion & should not behave as if everyone is bound to agree with them - give reasons for their dislike - and avoid insulting composers & musicians or a whole genre of music.

If the courtesies are observed, it would be wrong to deny the right of free speech to a disliker.

#6 ·
It seems to me there are folks who have a very hard time reading other people's expression of dislike of some pieces of music. (This appears to be the case more often than not, of supporters of modern classical music).

Well, let me put this question to you. It is a simple question, so please don't get tied down to debates about what definitions should apply to certain words. I'm just a plain music student, who embraces music that I like, and discharge those that I don't.