Classical Music Forum banner

Secular and Sacred

9K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  rborganist 
#1 ·
This is my first thread. I am a student at a community college looking to deepen my understanding of my course by the appropriate resources and pathways available to me.

Secular music deals with love, says my classical music teacher, whereas sacred music adheres to the text of the church, primarily in the texts of Kyrie, Ave Maria, etc. (I believe there are four.)

I created this threat to help me solidify my understanding of the concepts of the class by discussing the concrete use of certain vocabulary words.

The second purpose is to compare and contrast secular music throughout the ages to modern secular music. I'm sure there is plenty to contrast, but what remains the same is what intrigues me.

Seeing as I have a lot on my plate these days, I will do my best to answer promptly. All comments with life and knowledge affirming value are appreciated. If elaboration on the thread is needed, please ask.

Adieux,

okht

See less See more
#2 ·
Secular music deals with love, says my classical music teacher, whereas sacred music adheres to the text of the church, primarily in the texts of Kyrie, Ave Maria, etc. (I believe there are four.)
Your teacher is being way too simplistic in his or her explanation. For one thing, not all secular music is about love. Some secular music not about anything at all. For a second thing, some sacred music is about love too.

For a third thing, not all sacred music is taken from the official texts of the church. The term for music taken from the texts of the church is "liturgical." All liturgical music is sacred but not all sacred music is liturgical. Some sacred music is taken from texts that are personally authored by a creative artist. That kind of music is non-liturgical but it's still sacred.

G
#3 ·
Parts of a mass:
Kyrie
Gloria
Credo
Sanctus & Benedictus
Agnus Dei