Classical Music Forum banner

Intensive Adult Music Programs?

3K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  Enthalpy 
#1 ·
Hi! Newbie here. I'm a 29 year old female who is about to finish her PhD and has spring/summer available. I've always wanted to seriously learn classical piano and given the nice block of time available to me, now seems a good time to dive in. I'm looking for suggestions of programs which, in an ideal world, meet some or all of these criteria:

- Accepts beginners (obvious but important to note)
- Intensive/Extended program (3+ months is ideal, but anywhere in the 1-8 range is acceptable)
- Designed for adults/young adults (again obvious but noteworthy)
- Preferably international location (I'm located in the US and would, if at all possible, like to study abroad. I'm near fluent in Russian and intermediate in Spanish, however the courses/instruction would need to be in English).
- Cost is a factor in that I can't drop 10k USD for a semester long program, but am prepared to pay standard fees
- I'd like something all inclusive, which is a big one. I know I could just find a tutor in say, Austria--stay in a hostel, practice on my own...but in a perfect world I'd like an all inclusive program like those which are available for langauges. It'd be nice to get a total introduction through music theory lectures, music reading, etc.

Any suggestions on programs/schools/websites to begin looking would be very much appreciated!

:tiphat:

See less See more
#2 ·
If you go international the big issue will be practice piano availability. Sure, you can sleep in a hostel, but how many hostels will have a good practice instrument and let you play on it for big blocks of time daily? So being at a program would be a good idea. I assume you have already looked at the universities and music schools in locations that interest you to see if there are courses you can sign up for without being enrolled in a degree program. That would be a logical first step.