Classical Music Forum banner

Karajan's politics and Mahler's religion

26K views 102 replies 34 participants last post by  bz3 
#1 ·
Everyone knows that Gustav Mahler converted to Catholicism to get the Vienna Court Opera position, and I've heard the claim that Karajan wasn't really a committed Nazi, but joined the party to further his career. So how Catholic was Mahler, and how Nazi was Karajan, in your opinion? Do we view them as hypocrites or pragmatists? Were both more committed to the music that to anything else?

#3 ·
I won't get into Karajan, because that's too much a can of worms, but for Mahler--does it really matter how committed to Catholicism he was? For instance I would not condemn a Jew who hid his religion in Nazi Germany to be a hypocrite.

R. Strauss, for instance was the ultimate pragmatist. He said something to the effect of (I'm remembering very vaguely) "I was a good composer under the Kaiser, I was a good composer under the Republic, I will be good composer under whatever follows [Naziism]."

#11 · (Edited)
I won't get into Karajan, because that's too much a can of worms, but for Mahler--does it really matter how committed to Catholicism he was? For instance I would not condemn a Jew who hid his religion in Nazi Germany to be a hypocrite.

R. Strauss, for instance was the ultimate pragmatist. He said something to the effect of (I'm remembering very vaguely) "I was a good composer under the Kaiser, I was a good composer under the Republic, I will be good composer under whatever follows [Naziism]."
Almost identical to a quote from a Nazi counter-intelligence officer who had been career police. He said, "I was a cop under Weimar, a cop under NSDAP and I'd be a cop under Thaelmann (German Communist leader.)"