Classical Music Forum banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Beginner here. I was wondering if anyone could shed any light on which would be be the best choice for a first listen of Bellini's Norma. Both CD and DVD options would be preferable, thanks. :)

·
Registered
6,399 Posts
This was the result of our Norma contest in our Talk Classical Most Recommended Opera DVDs thread:

# 31 Norma
Most Recommended Version:

Picked by 2 out of 3 voters (66.6%) among 2 nominated versions out of 15 existing versions
2007(LI) - Carella Giuliano - Gran Teatro del Liceo

Runner-up: picked by 1 out of 3 voters (33.3%)
1974(LI) - Patanè Giuseppe - Teatro Regio di Torino

As you can see, Caballé's Orange performance referenced above made runner-up, but it was a low-vote contest. I love it. It's got bad sound, lots of wind, it's an outdated film, but it has a historical, magical quality in my opinion, it should be watched at least once by every opera lover. I also own the one that won the contest, but don't like it very much.

·
Registered
3,951 Posts
For someone new to Norma start with one of these stereo versions featuring two of the greatest sopranos of the stereo era:

-Sutherland
-Caballe

This is the early 1964 Sutherland release (not the later one with Pavoratti) when she had clear voice and staggering vocal range, strong support from young Maryln Horne, the very best version for many. The 1960s Caballe has extremely strong supporting cast, a balanced beautiful presentation but not the most dramatic......perhaps I am just under a Callas spell and her technique has forever biased me. I give a slight edge to the 1964 Sutherland

Once you have your feet wet you go for the supreme Norma of the last 60 years Maria Callas.