Classical Music Forum banner

Who sings it best?

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
It is one of the most famous arias but I decided in the first part to have three good singers who you don't normally associate with the aria. If you don't know the fabulous Yma Sumac, she was a vocally self taught allegedly " Peruvian princess" with a staggering 4 and a half octave range. She was the most famous mid century exotica singer but made some impressive opera aria recordings as well. The next part of this contest will pit Callas against Callas as no one can compete against her with this group;-)

·
Registered
2,916 Posts
It is one of the most famous arias but I decided in the first part to have three good singers who you don't normally associate with the aria. If you don't know the fabulous Yma Sumac, she was a vocally self taught Peruvian princess with a staggering 4 and a half octave range. She was the most famous mid century exotica singer but made some impressive opera aria recordings as well. The next part of this contest will pit Callas against Callas as no one can compete against her with this group;-)
Sumac was not a Peruvian princess - that was an invention “by Hollywood” according to Wikipedia (who also report the Peruvian government supported her claim), Wikipedia also report her parents were mestizos (of mixed race). Nevertheless, her vocal ability is not in doubt as there are recordings to prove it (but not this one).

·
Registered
19,845 Posts
I'll confess right off that hardly anyone satisfies me in this aria, which gives every soprano an opportunity to display her personal brand of emotional signaling and to expose her own level of taste. Given the prevailing hysteria of the scene that precedes and follows it, I want to hear this sung with the cleanest, most classical line, the emotion within the vocal tone rather than applied like stage makeup. It is, after all, a prayer.