Classical Music Forum banner
1 - 17 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
Remark by Art Rock: this thread was created to split off an interesting side discussion that originated in an Area51 thread, especially posts 3-6 in the current thread. Please focus on the thread title in the discussion.

I have had it. I refuse to believe living composers and not as good as dead ones.

Reactions: science and Aerobat

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
Discussion Starter · #21 ·
Although I have read some interesting posts, none of them address my frustration.

There are many in the classical community who think that living composers are not as good as pre-20th century composers.

As an amateur musician I have had the good fortune to meet many outstanding composers. To my ears their music is just as good as anything composed in the 19th century.

I do not have the expertise to explain why since I am not a musicologist. My feelings are based solely on my experiences as a performing musician.

Reactions: Amadea

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
Discussion Starter · #58 ·
Let us not turn this into another 'modern music is bad' thread. There have been plenty of other threads for that, and I'm sure there will be plenty more.
Art Rock,

I appreciate what you are trying to accomplish but the enemies of living composers will continue to appear in threads like this and try to sabotage the discussion. Over the years many of us have tried to provide examples of good modern music to no avail.

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
Discussion Starter · #61 ·
This question is a crushing disappointment to me, because it suggests you have not clicked on each and every youtube link in my posts here over the past few months, and raises the distinct possibility you have clicked on none of them. :eek: I'm going to go get some ice cream now, and attempt to recover my self-esteem.