Classical Music Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
3,297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I. INTRODUCTION

Born into a middle-class Jewish family in Vienna, Ernst Toch was initially self-taught as a composer, learning from the works of earlier composers. Appointed professor of composition at the Mannheim Musikhochschule, he won a significant place for himself in Germany as a composer, developing from a conservative style to something more approaching that of Hindemith. In 1933 he left Germany, where his music had been proscribed, and the following year moved to the United States, finally settling in Hollywood, where his music for the cinema provided a ready income. The lack of wider interest in his concert work in America brought disillusionment, but this did not prevent him composing seven symphonies, among other works, during the final years of his life. [1]

· Registered
3,297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
II. BIOGRAPHY

Ernst Toch today is a little-known composer who had really been quite famous back in his old country. Vienna-born (1887) and largely self-taught, Toch had grown into one of the stand-out fixtures on Weimar Germany's modernist Neue Musik scene during the decade and a half after the first world war. A fervent experimentalist (though one firmly planted as well in the Great German tradition of his heroes Mozart and latterly Brahms), he was regularly featured in all the avant garde festivals, where among other things he virtually invented rap music by way of his hugely popular 1930 composition "Geographical Fugue" for the new medium of spoken chorus ("Trinidad, and the big Mississippi and the town Honolulu and the lake Titicaca…"), a piece subsequently championed by no less a figure than LA High School's own John Cage.