Classical Music Forum banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I'm a journalist writing a book about street performance, and was hoping to get some comments from classical music fans. I'd love to know your thoughts on the below questions. A discussion would be great, or you could email me here: [email protected].

1. Have you heard about an 'experiment' where a famous violinist played an expensive violin in the Washington subway?
  2. If so, what do you remember? What were your takeaways?
  3. What do you think the classical music world could learn, if anything, from that experiment.
Thank you so much for any replies, from a very recent addition to this forum,

Nick

· Senior Moderator
I DON'T BELIEVE IT!
42,975 Posts
1. Yes, I remember the story, I think he played Bach;
2. What I think I remember (might not be correct) is that almost no-one stopped to listen;
3. The target group for classical music is very, very small indeed.

I'm 65 by the way.

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
1. Yes, I remember the story, I think he played Bach;
2. What I think I remember (might not be correct) is that almost no-one stopped to listen;
3. The target group for classical music is very, very small indeed.
Brilliant, thank you so much! As expected, actual classical music fans would talk about the music. Everyone else I've spoken to has focused on the audience :)

· Registered
Sibelius, Beethoven, Satie, Debussy
2,650 Posts
1. Yes.
2. Is this a test of memory, or can we look it up and refresh. That silly conclusions were drawn from the "experiment".
3. Nothing. There is nothing to be learned from someone busking in the subway.

· Registered
1,054 Posts
I tried to split my answers according to your list, but they are all connected. Here are my answers:
  1. Yes, I remember.