Classical Music Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First, I should make it clear that I'm new to opera - very new. I'm not a musician of any real sort and have no knowledge of music theory - I just like to listen to the pretty music.

However, rightly or wrongly, I want to take the leap into Wagner and his Ring Cycle. So what version of the Ring Cycle should I watch first? Also, what material do I need to have read before watching the opera itself?

From what I can tell, the three "best" (a dangerous word to use when talking about Ring Cycles) are the Boulez/Chéreau Centenary Production, the 1990 Levine Met Production, and the 1991-92 Barenboim Bayreuth Production.

·
Registered
15,737 Posts
I really like the 1990 Levine Met Production better than the Boulez. I have not watched Barenboim yet but it is in my unwatched pile. I really like The Machine though I have not watched Rhinegold from that set.

I just watch with subtitles, but at least a detailed synopsis would be good to have a general idea of the story ahead of watching.

Reactions: Woodduck

·
Registered
19,669 Posts
The Boulez-Chereau shouldn't be your first Ring. The 1990 Met production, though its sets are stylized ("the machine," as it's called, configuring itself variously from scene to scene) is faithful to Wagner's own conception of his story. Chereau, though his ideas are (sometimes) reasonable and interesting and his stage action lively, gives you a directors modern interpretation. You should know what Wagner intends before watching 20th-century rewrites.

·
Premium Member
Haydn, Mozart, Vivaldi, Wagner
13,590 Posts
I would recommend getting a "Ring without words" cd and familiarize
yourself with the music.
In such a large work those discs will be a big help.
You can read about it on Wikipedia free under Der Ring and under each seperate opera.

Reactions: SixFootScowl

·
Registered
4,741 Posts