Classical Music Forum banner
1 - 9 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
It appears to me that some film scores can be considered classical and some can not.
When I studied music as an undergrad I learned that there were certain methods employed by classical composers in order to structure their works. We studied some of these in form and analysis, and orchestration classes. I learned of many of these methods in a jazz arranging class I took in grad school.
If a composer employs the same methods in his film score it seems to me that one could consider it classical.

Reactions: Varick

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
I am seventy-five. When I was younger in America there was a significant anima in the classical music community toward film music.
Why? I do not know. My guess was that it was snobbery.
Today that is no longer the case.

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
I have a question that may have a bearing on this discussion.
Was European Concert Music the first genre to employ music notation?

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
I remember in music history class we studied the history of music notation and the notation employed in Medieval sacred music evolved into modern notation. It took a few centuries.
I was asking if Classical Indian Music, Chinese, Japanese. etc. have a system of notation.

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
The following is an interesting interview between Sarah Willis, a hornist of the Berlin Philharmonic, and John Williams.

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
The bottom line is that irregardless of the status of Pluto, most of us here consider many film scores to be a form of classical music.

·
Registered
Mahler
3,907 Posts
There are members who believe that film music can be a form of classical music.
There are some who do not.
After all of this hot air I seriously doubt if anyone has changed his mind.
So what if Johnson does not believe film can be classical. That is his problem not mine.

Reactions: Chibi Ubu

·
Registered
Mahler